Welcome to Petroleum Geology Forums

This is a free online community that aims to bring petroleum professionals and geologists together and share valuable knowledge. Registration is easy so become a member now for instant free access.
  • Petroleum Geologists can stay up to date with industry related topics and exchange ideas and concepts.
  • Upstream Oil and Gas Consultants get a chance to share their expertise and gain exposure to land future projects.
  • Geology students and graduates can join the discussion and get into contact with potential future employees.

>> Register Now

Petroleum Geology and Geo-physics 

Post Petroleum Geology and Geo-physics
Whats the difference between Petroleum Geology and Geo-physics? I'm an undergraduate aspiring to become a Petroleum Geologist. Can anyone with right knowledge tell me the difference between those two. And If i want to become a person searching for petrol and oil and gas a.k.a petroleum geologist then what one of the above subjects do i have to specialize in?? Because in university Post Graduate courses you can specialize in anyone of the above courses, and i want it get it right and build an interest in it.Please help me Thank you.

Last edited by andresya on Sat Jul 26, 2014 11:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

Thu Jul 24, 2014 11:44 am

Post Re: Petroleum Geology and Geo-physics
andresya wrote:
Whats the difference between Petroleum Geology and Geo-physics? I'm an undergraduate aspiring to become a Petroleum Geologist. Can anyone with right knowledge tell me the difference between those two. And If i want to become a person searching for petrol and oil and gas a.k.a petroleum geologist then what one of the above subjects do i have to specialize in?? Because in university Post Graduate courses you can specialize in anyone of the above courses, and i want it get it right and build an interest in it.Please help me Thank you.

Ideally as a professional you would build up significant knowledge of both!