Welcome to Petroleum Geology Forums

This is a free online community that aims to bring petroleum professionals and geologists together and share valuable knowledge. Registration is easy so become a member now for instant free access.
  • Petroleum Geologists can stay up to date with industry related topics and exchange ideas and concepts.
  • Upstream Oil and Gas Consultants get a chance to share their expertise and gain exposure to land future projects.
  • Geology students and graduates can join the discussion and get into contact with potential future employees.

>> Register Now

Breaking into the business 

Post Breaking into the business
Hi Everyone!

I'm a new member. I understand that there is a topic similar to this - "How to become a petrophysicist" - that was active a few months ago. Apologies for asking a similar type of question here.

My background is in theoretical atomic and molecular physics - I have a PhD. Anyway, unlike the previous poster, I have absolutely no prior experience in the oil and gas industry, and I'm trying to break in - my work history since graduate school has been entirely within academia. Another "problem" that I seem to have is that I am no longer a recent graduate, having been out of graduate school for 8 years.

However, I am extremely keen to get into petrophysics in Canada. I realize that due to my background and lack of experience the best I can hope for is some sort of trainee position. I don't mind this at all - I fully expect to have to do a lot of study, etc. in order to succeed. I'm more than happy to work hard. I do understand that there are numerous intro courses offered, but I can't afford to pay for such programs myself.

What I really need is some good advice from experienced guys within the industry - is it likely that someone with my background can make it. Are people with my type of background getting hired? Am I wasting my time? Any advice would be gratefully appreciated!

Sun Aug 28, 2011 6:40 am