Welcome to Petroleum Geology Forums

This is a free online community that aims to bring petroleum professionals and geologists together and share valuable knowledge. Registration is easy so become a member now for instant free access.
  • Petroleum Geologists can stay up to date with industry related topics and exchange ideas and concepts.
  • Upstream Oil and Gas Consultants get a chance to share their expertise and gain exposure to land future projects.
  • Geology students and graduates can join the discussion and get into contact with potential future employees.

>> Register Now

Need advice - Processing Geophysicist 

Post Need advice - Processing Geophysicist
What a great forum...Hi everybody,

I am looking for advice.

I graduated from a university on the east coast (USA) in May of 2011 with a MS in Geology, concentration Geophysics.

I started in May 2011 at a consulting firm performing near surface geophysics surveys, however I would like to transition into the oil and gas industry doing seismic data processing. My thesis involved data processing of underwater acoustic signals using Matlab. Unfortunately I don't have any oil and gas experience, what would be the best way for me to gain experience?

Should I sign up for some Seismic Data Processing short courses.......

My goal is to get a job as an Onboard Processing Geophysicist. During my thesis I completed a couple research cruises and really enjoyed them.

Thanks for any advice,

Kyle

Sat Feb 11, 2012 3:11 am

Post Re: Need advice - Processing Geophysicist
[color=#408040]Hello Kyle.
Its good to know you are keenly interested in becoming a Seismic Processing Expert.
Somehow you seem to have started well by starting your working career with a Company that does Surface Seismic Acquisition.
As for me, for a young Graduate like you hoping to make a career in Seismic Processing, it is better for you firstly to have a solid foundation in Seismic acquisition before moving on to Processing.